SHRM Certification

As a 2019 SHRM Learning System Chapter Champion, HRA of Greater Oak Brook has been recognized for our hard work to elevate the HR profession through professional development and HR knowledge among members, gained from SHRM certification. HRA of Greater Oak Brook’s programming qualifies for certification credits. You may be wondering what's involved with getting a SHRM cerification.  Below we've laid out the steps and also include links to SHRM resources in the sidebar.

SHRM Learning System Logo


  • Current applicants are encouraged to schedule or reschedule their exam, using Prometric’s online scheduling tool here. Prometric is unable to schedule or reschedule appointments by phone at this time.

  • New applicants for SHRM certification can apply here. The Early Bird application deadline has been extended to April 10, 2020, and the standard application deadline has been extended to May 15, 2020. As a reminder, the SHRM Spring Exam Window dates have also shifted to June 1 - August 15, 2020.

  • New Remote-Proctored Exam Option!
    Providing SHRM Certification candidates with multiple options in these challenging times is important. As such, SHRM is adding a remote proctoring option effective for the Spring 2020 testing window.

    • This means candidates now have two testing options – take a remotely-proctored exam or take the exam in-person at a test center between June and mid-August. Remote proctoring offers candidates a convenient, reliable alternative to the traditional test center experience. The remote proctoring option will be available for candidates in North America, South America, Europe and parts of Asia only. Note that standard test-center administration is available in China and MENA. More information on remote proctoring is available here. Candidates can make a testing appointment online using this link here.

    • If a candidate decides he or she is unable to test during the updated Spring 2020 Testing Window or has any other questions, the candidate should contact the SHRM Customer Experience team to discuss options at [email protected] or by phone at +1.703.548.3440 (select option 3), Monday – Friday, from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m., ET.

We will continue to update you with any new details related to the testing as they become available. 


SHRM offers two levels of certification:

SHRM-Certified Professional (SHRM-CP)
SHRM-Senior Certified Professional (SHRM-SCP)

Earning your SHRM-CP or SHRM-SCP makes you a recognized expert, a leader in the HR field, and a valuable asset to your organization, keeping you and your organization more competitive in today’s economy. This professional distinction sets you apart from your colleagues, proving your high level of knowledge and skills.


Apply here for SHRM Certification and to review the application process, eligibility criteria, and exam windows.


The SHRM Learning System is available through Self-Study and Instructor-Led programs.  Visit SHRM Learning Options to review several learning options to suit different learning styles, schedules, group sizes and locations. Choose the format that fits your learning preference. 

A number of colleges, universities and SHRM chapters in Illinois also offer qualified classroom or online instructor-led exam preparation courses for each testing window. Click here to view the list. Contact the providers directly for more information about their courses.  Courses typically begin 3-4 months BEFORE the beginning of the testing window.

Certify & Recertify

SHRM National membership in addition to your HRA of Greater Oak Brook membership is the perfect combination!  We can assist in staying current with relevant HR updates and providing a valuable network of HR professionals to guide you along the way. 

SHRM has addressed the needs of HR professionals by creating three avenues by which SHRM-CP and SHRM-SCP credential-holders can earn recertification credits:

Advance Your Education through continuing education activities such as conferences, seminars, chapter programs, e-learning, webcasts, and more.

Advance Your Organization through supervisor-endorsed work projects that support organizational goals and demonstrate or advance capabilities in one or more HR Competencies.

Advance Your Profession through thought leadership and volunteer activities that contribute to the development of the HR profession and the community.

Here are a few things to help you along the way:

Your 3-year recertification period ends on the last day of your birth month. Don’t let your credentials lapse! Log into your Certification Portal to check your current professional development credit (PDC) status and submit your application when you have 60 PDCs. If you submit early, your recertification cycle dates will not change, but you’ll have peace of mind.

Earn PDCs online right here, right now with free SHRM webcasts. Access webcasts at SHRM Webcasts. Topics cover a wide range of HR issues, so you can find ones relevant to your current HR challenges.

Document a work project that you’ve completed during your 3-year recertification cycle.Earn up to 20 PDCs by quickly summarizing a work project that you’ve completed that spanned more than 50 hours of work time over at least 3 months. Watch a brief 4 minute video that provides step-by-step instruction on entering an Advance Your Organization activity into your SHRM Recertification Application.

Take the free SHRM Competency Self- Assessment.This exclusive SHRM member resource helps you identify areas of strength and opportunities for development based on the SHRM Competency Model. After completing it, your results will inform your professional development plan and you will be one PDC closer to 60.